Our Members

The NZRU membership includes Affiliated Unions, Associate Members and the Life Members.

Affiliated Unions

The Affiliated Unions are New Zealand’s 26 Provincial Unions. The NZRU works with, for and on behalf of these 26 Provincial Unions, which in turn manage their representative teams and provide rugby administration and services to the clubs and schools in their region.

The 26 Provincial Unions are listed below, divided into New Zealand rugby’s three zones, Northern, Central and Southern. All Provincial Unions are, like the NZRU itself, incorporated societies.

Northern Zone

Central Zone

Southern Zone

Auckland RFU
Bay of Plenty RFU
Counties Manukau RFU
King Country RFU
North Harbour RFU
Northland RFU
Thames Valley RFU
Waikato RU 

East Coast RFU
Hawke’s Bay RFU
Horowhenua Kapiti RFU
Manawatu RFU
Poverty Bay RFU
Taranaki RFU
Wairarapa Bush RFU
Wanganui RFU
Wellington RFU

Buller RFU
Canterbury RFU
Mid Canterbury RFU
North Otago RFU
Otago RFU
Rugby Southland
Tasman RU
South Canterbury RFU
West Coast RFU

 Associate Members

The Associate Members are organisations that provide rugby or rugby-related services to particular groups. In some cases, such as New Zealand Schools, these organisations assemble teams or administer competitions. In others, these organisations provide other services, such as the Rugby Museum Society, which administers the Rugby Museum in Palmerston North, and the Rugby Foundation, which provides support to players who have suffered serious injuries.

The NZRU’s Associate Members are:

New Zealand Defence Force Sports Committee
New Zealand Marist Rugby Football Federation
New Zealand Universities Rugby Football Council
Rugby Union Foundation of New Zealand
New Zealand Schools Rugby Council
New Zealand Colleges of Education Rugby Football Federation
New Zealand Deaf Rugby Football Union
Rugby Museum Society of New Zealand

Life Members

Life Members are individuals who have been elected in recognition of exceptional service to the NZRU and to rugby.

Currently, the NZRU has six Life Members:

Richie Guy (elected 2001)
Eddie Tonks (2004)
Colin Meads (2007)
Peter Burke (2008)
Rob Fisher (2011)
John Sturgeon (2012)