About Us

 The New Zealand Rugby Union (New Zealand Rugby), formed in 1892 to administer the game of rugby union at the national level, is charged with fostering, developing, administering, promoting and representing the game of rugby in New Zealand.

New Zealand Rugby has office in Wellington and Auckland as well as a number of staff based around New Zealand. Our people manage our national teams (including the All Blacks), administration of our national competitions, and participation in international competitions including Test matches, as well as assisting community rugby throughout the country. New Zealand Rugby has direct relationships with its members, including all 26 Provincial Unions, Investec Super Rugby Franchises, sponsors, and stakeholders such as the New Zealand Government.

New Zealand Rugby is one of New Zealand's largest sports organisations, with a team of employees committed to ensuring that our national game is run smoothly and effectively at all levels, all over New Zealand.  As a modern, professional sport, rugby encompasses a wide range of activities and functions. 

Teams within New Zealand Rugby include: Community and Provincial Union Rugby, the All Blacks, Professional Rugby, Relationships and Planning, Finance and ICT, Public Affairs and Commercial.

New Zealand Rugby is an incorporated society (New Zealand Rugby Union Incorporated), governed by the Incorporated Societies Act 1908. Unlike a private company, generally, New Zealand Rugby is not allowed to make profits and distribute these to its members (the Provincial Unions). When New Zealand Rugby does make money and distribute this to its members, these distributions must only be for achieving the goals of the New Zealand Rugby Constitution. These goals include promoting and developing rugby locally and globally, organising matches, and managing New Zealand’s national teams. 


New Zealand Rugby has two Officers: the President and Vice President. These office-holders represent New Zealand Rugby and New Zealand at rugby and non-rugby functions and events, locally and overseas. The President and Vice President are entitled to attend New Zealand Rugby Board Meetings, although they are not considered Board Members and may not vote on Board matters.

The President and Vice President are elected for two year terms. In 2013, former All Black Ian MacRae became President while David Rhodes was elected Vice President. 

The New Zealand Patron fills an honorary role as the figurehead for the organisation. The current Patron is former All Black Sir Brian Lochore, while the previous Patron was Sir Wilson Whineray. Throughout the 20th Century the Governor General traditionally held the role.